VISIT THE HALL
How to get here
VISIT SIX CENTURIES OF HISTORY
Tucker’s Hall has stood in the city of Exeter for more than six centuries. In 1471 the Exeter Guild of Weavers, Fullers and Shearmen was given a plot of land on Fore Street by William and Cecilia Bowden.
Visit to discover its place in history promoting the woollen cloth trade.
Exeter became very prosperous thanks to the woollen trade. By 1700 Exeter was responsible for a quarter of England’s woollen cloth trade. The Incorporation was booming and could boast a membership of 400 craftsmen.
Our unique hall is filled with the history of grand dinners, business partnerships and hard working Exonians. The Incorporation has, after many centuries, established a collection of varied, interesting and valuable items, which are on display.
Video tour of the hall
Tucked away just off Fore Street in Exeter is this hidden gem of history, peace and facinating tales. Thanks for a wonderful visit.
Visitor from Exeter